No luck so far with composite out Pi4 preassembled Hypno

Hi everybody,
I’m an absolute noob with Pi stuff, and bought a Hypno b/c it had CV capability (and it looks amazing, of course). When I put in my order, it stated that the device was capable of sending composite out, and that’s how I planned to use the unit exclusively. My whole video rig is composite and I have no way of integrating HDMI, besides a lone adaptor box I occasionally use to get my computer into my mixer.
Since my initial failure getting the unit to power on without an active HDMI source plugged in first, I have purchased a dedicated raspberry Pi power supply, and I have been trying to use a 1/8" to RCA TRRS breakout adaptor to get the composite video signal out of the box, but nothing seems to be working. I don’t have a microUSB card reader, so I haven’t been able to check the config file (there is no update switch on this model of RPi) but I would just assume that composite is available out of the box, since it lists composite video out as a feature of the Hypno on the shop website. Can any users confirm or deny that this should work upon arrival? It seems so strange that an advertised feature of this synth would be such a struggle to get going.
Strangely, I do have an HDMI to composite converter box, but even that doesn’t work with the Hypno. Like I said, it works with my computer just fine, runs into CRTs and my mixer and everything, but the converter box just outputs static (after the initial boot dialogue text). I have no way of getting the Hypno into composite at this point, and using HDMI really isn’t an option for me, as all of my gear is composite.